Superman Reviews and Ratings



  • July 18, 2014
    I really never been a big fan of "Superman" but I was going through Half Price Books and found the box set for $15 and just had to take it. It's pretty dated, but not unwatchable. The action is good and Christopher Reeve is an amazing Superman.
  • May 30, 2014
    This is the true superman ladies and gentlemen, the one and only. Others can try but no one will beat Christoper Reeves in this role. This movies cheesyness and charm had me blown away- even though it's more than 30 years old its still great today.
  • May 13, 2014
    I own the "theatrical cut" and "director's cut" version of this in the "Ultimate Superman Collection DVD" set and the "Superman Motion Picture Anthology" Blu-Ray set along with:
    * Superman And The Mole Men (1951)
    * Superman II (1980)
    * Superman II: The Richard Donner Cut (2006)
    ... read more* Superman III (1983)
    * Superman IV: The Quest For Peace (1987)
    * Superman Returns (2006)
  • May 1, 2014
    More than just a comic book character, Superman, over the years since he was first created, has become an American icon. Director Richard Donner, his talented filmmaking team, Puzo's strong script, a gifted supporting cast and, of course, the perfectly cast Christopher Reeve as t... read morehe titular character have created an endearing and nostalgic tribute that's equally heartfelt as it is humorous. As film critic Krishna Shenoi stated, this is the Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs for comic book films. The quality of film technology may have increased with each surpassing comic book film, but films like Batman, X-Men, Spider-man, The Dark Knight, Iron Man, and The Avengers all owe a debt of gratitude to this film for paving the way for them.

    Full review at http://silverscreenfanatic.com/2014/04/22/benjamins-stash-16/
  • March 24, 2014
    One of my fave films as a kid...I find it still holds-up. Christopher Reeve is great as both Clark Kent & Superman, and Gene Hackman is a lot of fun to watch. I enjoyed the story and thought the SFX hold-up quite well. If's its been a while, give it another watch!
  • March 14, 2014
    i love this movie but for me was a little bit campy like the adam west's batman.
  • February 22, 2014
    A classic big-budget blockbuster film. Much better than more recent offerings.
  • February 20, 2014
    A movie I won't ever forget, much like the legendary star, Christopher Reeves.
  • February 11, 2014
    For over twenty years, the original Superman remained the greatest comic book movie ever made. Its influence is still felt today (check out Spiderman and Batman Begins). It has a certain innocence and charm that lends itself nicely to the genre. Yet, it's the story that prevails.... read more Puzo and Benton succeed in making us truly care. The imagery is gorgeous and I adore the long takes. The touching sentiment, comedic banter and intense ending, all help make this a true classic. Brando and Hackman also add a certain amount of weight, while John Williams strikes a home run. Just be kind to its dated FX, kay? And just for the record, Reeve and Kidder remain the definitive Superman and Louis Lane.
  • fb1322024493
    November 27, 2013
    fb1322024493
    Swiss cheese. In that it is cheesy and full of holes (In logic). And yet, that just adds the charm in a weird way. Thing's that do not add to the charm, however, include pacing problems and Lois Lane's little poetic rhyme about how much she loves Superman. Then again, who wouldn'... read moret want all their feeling's to be forcibly rhymed?
  • November 15, 2013
    Classic! This film came out when I was 2... Been a fan ever since... Christopher Reeve made me believe I could Fly!
  • October 24, 2013
    It's fantastic for its time. Superhero films have tackled themes more head on in recent years, but this one is excellent for the standards of its age (namely, not being so theme-driven).
  • September 11, 2013
    Superb the bench mark for how to make an Origin story.
  • September 5, 2013
    I've never been a big fan of Superman, and while this movie is nostalgic for a lot of people (myself included), it really doesn't hold up all that well over time. But I still give it nostalgic points and ignore the corny-ness
  • July 26, 2013
    Was 18 when this came out & saw it multiple times. In it's day was a mind-blower
  • July 10, 2013
    If I had the time travel capabilities to compare the generational impacts that Superman (1978) and The Dark Knight (2008) had in their respective decades, I would dare to say that the visual world created by Richard Donner 4 decades ago left audiences in bigger awe than the intre... read morepid superhero film a la Michael Mann of Christopher Nolan, simply because Superman was something out of this world (pun intended). The 70s also experienced the nostalgia of watching that superhero with which our grandfathers had grown since the character was still a black-and-white TV sensation.

    Landmark visual effects and the best Lex Luthor possible, this is, hands down, the best superhero film ever made.

    91/100
  • oylux
    June 30, 2013
    oylux
    Sin lugar a dudas es la primer película que inspiro a una generación y a las anteriores fanáticas del hombre de acero, es la que tiene ese feeling de el personaje Superman, es la que hizo realidad el ver a Superman hacer proezas como en los comics, es la que hizo soñar a los niño... read mores que un hombre puede volar.

    La entrada de la película es genial, tenemos el inicio sobre el Comic, el globo del planeta girando, la excelente musica de John Williams y los créditos en el espacio con la tridemensionalidad de el logotipo de Superman, algo que constituye todo un recuerdo inamovible.

    La actuación de Marlon Brando como Jor-El y Terence Stamp como Zod es muy buena durante el principio, sostiene esa parte del filme, además es lo que dara la preparación y cabida a los confictos de Superman 2 que vendría siendo el complemento de esta cinta.

    Como un comentario, opino que tanto el traje negro y el luminoso de los kriptonianos son elegantes y lucen muy bien, con logotipos emblema de cada familia de kripton.

    La nave de Kal-El y las edificaciones Kriptonianas, idem de la Fortaleza me parecen muy mala idea, no me agradan, el hecho de que sean de Cristal y que todo parezca hielo, me parece falto de creatividad, pues lo unico seguro y que representan bien, es que la civilizacion kriptoniana era muy fría. Me gustan mas las ideas del comic, donde en las fortalezas y edificios kriptonianos hay formas especiales de diseño y arquitectura, que además representan bien el grado tecnologico de esta civilización.

    Smallville y la granja de los Kent, lucen en demasía desoladores y bastante feos, y es una cosa que no sucede en los comics tanto en los de Superboy como en los de Superman y hasta en las series televisivas siempre hay un aspecto más optimista.

    Hay una escena del joven Clark con Lana, que refleja toda la frustración que esconde el tener que crecer al margen por ser diferente, que fue bueno haber mostrado.
    Igualmente la escena de la conversación con Jonathan, es buena porque aunque es muy poca la participación de Glenn Ford, se demuestra la relación padre e hijo.
    Al igual que la creación de la fortaleza, (en el polo Norte por cierto) estas escenas serian fundamentos de la serie Smallville.

    Estas largas escenas como de 40 minutos fueron necesarias por ser el primer filme y mantuvieron a la gente a la expectativa para poder ver a Superman (sobretodo volar) y sorprenderse.
    A proposito de Superman...se supone que por ser la primera cinta, nos deberían contar ¿De donde o como surge el traje de Superman? Acaso se lo materializo Jor-El.

    Cuando finalmente llega a Metropolis tenemos al fin el reparto principal con las personalidades del comic de la epoca: Clark el tímido-torpe, la indiferente Lois, el amable Jimmy Olsen y el jefe energico, en todo lo amplio de la palabra: Perry White. Por otro lado tenemos a un Lex Luthor asesino y ampliamente interesado en las bienes raices o propiedades. Aspectos que conservarían para Superman Returns.

    A lo largo podemos ver las muy buenas actuaciones de Christopher Reeve, Gene Hackman que personifican con buen tino a sus personajes. Dejando una huella difícil de igualar por mucho tiempo.

    Me llama la atención un comentario de Lois Lane, en cual menciona que su hermana tiene tres hijos, e inmediatamente pense en Lucy que se supone es menor a ella. Pero desconozco cuantas hermanas tendría en esa epoca de los comics.

    Llegamos por fin a la aparición de Superman como tal, y se da salvando a Lois de caer con todo y helicoptero; la escena es muy buena y emocionante, sobretodo acompañada de la musica de John Williams, hace poner la piel erizada al surgir en el momento exacto para que uno se emocione al ver con los ojos de un niño, como alguien salva la situación, es como si uno fuese uno mas de la gente que aplaude al pie del edificio.
    Y hablando de edificios, ese es el edificio del Planeta y este no tiene en su cima el Globo giratorio del principio del fime (falta de presupuesto seguramente) y en su lugar tiene el helipuerto.

    Otro detalle que salta a mi vista es que cuando Clark tiene que cambiarse a Superman, no hicieron las escenas bien justificadas, pues se mete en cualquier sitio poco creíble y rapidamente sale, a veces entre la misma gente. Solo lo justifica la fantasía de la epoca.

    La comedia del filme recae mucho más en el personaje de Ottis, el secuaz de Luthor; Ottis resta seriedad en momentos que debería haberla, pero ala vez ayuda a que Lex se vea más astuto.
    La escena menos creíble-justificable y que le ha costado mofa a través de los años a Superman (que por ello se siente de Tierra 2 del comic) es, en la que mueve el eje de rotación de la Tierra para regresar al tiempo. Considero que es lo peor de la cinta, un recurso innecesario y fantastico. Si se tenía que hacer de esa manera bien se pudo haber buscado otra idea para volver al tiempo. De algo se dieron cuenta al tomar inspiración en Smallville y usaron otra idea mejor.

    La salida o final, es otra escena de esas que se recuerdan; Superman saliendo por un costado y volteando a ver la camara como despidiendose con un gesto amable en lo alto del espacio y sobre la Tierra.

    Superman The Movie una cinta pionera del género, que hizo realidad las fantasías de miles, tiene ese angel que no muchas cintas de superheroes logran conseguir, fue y es la inspiración de escritores y cineastas. Todo un clásico, inmortalizado por el gran Christoper Reeve.
  • June 25, 2013
    Young Clark Kent: All those things I can do. All those powers. And I couldn't even save him.
  • June 24, 2013
    Superman: The Movie (1978) -- [8.0] -- This was the first blockbuster superhero movie (for better and for worse) and I doubt there will ever be a better film adaptation for the Man of Steel. Under Richard Donner's (The Omen, Lethal Weapon) direction and good taste, "Superman" is ... read morea winning blend of action, drama, charm, and yes, camp. The first forty minutes are emotionally powerful, more than any other comic book adaptation I've ever seen. I get choked up every time I watch this movie, whether it's seeing Marlon Brando (as Jor-El) say goodbye to his son before sending him away from their doomed home world, watching the Kent family deal with the death of Jonathan Kent, or the gorgeous wheat field scene where Clark tells Ma Kent it's time for him to go. The movie shifts gears, narratively and stylistically, when we enter Metropolis and The Daily Planet. Christopher Reeve and Margot Kidder are terrific together as Clark Kent and Lois Lane. They capture the essence of screwball comedy in their interactions, making their budding romance more palatable, at least for me. The scene on Lois Lane's patio, where she interviews Superman for the first time, is extraordinarily well-written and performed -- my favorite scene in the movie, thanks to Reeve and Kidder. Adding remarkable luster to the fantasy are cinematographer Geoffrey Unsworth and composer John Williams. If I have gripes with the movie, they all come in the movie's last forty minutes, when Lex Luthor attempts to sink California into the ocean. I love Gene Hackman as Luthor, but things get a bit silly toward the end. I'm not a fan of the whole 'spinning back time' sequence. The movie is so good for so long, I feel like it deserves a better ending than this. Fortunately, it's not enough to tarnish the movie too badly. This Superman's not perfect, but it's close. It's still my favorite 'superhero' movie to date.
  • fb1211910120
    June 23, 2013
    fb1211910120
    I watched this because I really hated Man of Steel and thought that surely a Superman movie could do the character justice. I'd seen this before, but it had been years, so I wanted to re-watch it and see if this was that movie. It was better than Man of Steel in just about every ... read moreway. The Krypton part at the beginning was handled more succinctly than it was in Man of Steel, Chris Reeve is a better Superman than Henry Cavill, Margot Kidder is an infinitely more interesting Lois Lane than Amy Adams, Lex Luthor here is a more compelling villain than Zod was in Man of Steel, the plot makes more sense and is structured better than Man of Steel's, the effects in this were all practical and therefore more interesting to watch than the CG fest that was Man of Steel, etc. This one does drag at times, but never for too long. This is Superman done right, and it makes me sad that Man of Steel sucked as much as it did. I can't wait to watch the next few, but even if none of those stand up to this one, at least there will be one really good Superman movie in existence.
  • June 17, 2013
    I was familiar with the end of the movie and had seen clips from the parts dealing with Clark meeting and working with Lois. I finally got around to watching the movie beginning to end before Man of Steel was released. It is Donner's Director's Cut that I am reviewing. I checked ... read morethe trivia on IMDb to get some idea of the differences between the theatrical release and the director's cut. It appears that there weren't a whole lot of changes. Donner only restored a few bits of dialog and bits of business. I plan to see Superman II soon, which I understand includes more drastic changes to what Donner intended, since scenes for that film were shot consecutively with this one, and then re-shot under new direction.

    The excessive opening credits raised one of my eyebrows right from the start. From all accounts, producer Ilya Salkind was probably the source of all sorts of turmoil. Between Mario Puzo, David and Leslie Newman, Robert Benton, and Tom Mankiewicz having a hand in the script I'm not sure who to blame for the campiness. John Barry's production design looks pretty good throughout, although many of the special effects are not great.

    There is a fairly lengthy prologue with Brando and York as Superman's Kryptonian parents, a dozen or so Elders, and Stamp, O'Halloran, and Douglas as General Zod and his followers. I was unaware that this movie so clearly sets up the plot for the sequel. Of course for anyone remotely familiar with the mythology, you know there is planet wide destruction on Krypton. The effects of baby Kal-El rocketing to Earth look acceptable, but on the other hand, the Phantom Zone is foolish. Next we have another sizable segment with Ford and Thaxter as Pa and Ma Kent along with Jeff East playing the teenage Clark. I was also unaware that so much time was spent in Smallville. And it isn't until after East as Clark has trekked to the Fortress of Solitude in the arctic and learned of his origins from a holographic Jor-El (his intelligence, not just a pre-recorded message) that Christopher Reeve appears. Reeve is immediately convincing as both Clark and Superman. Amidst all the camp you can believe Reeve is the best choice for this character. I didn't like that Kidder as Lois, the ace reporter, evidently is a terrible speller. Cooper as Perry White wasn't that memorable and McClure as Jimmy Olsen basically takes the damsel in distress role in equal measure with Lois Lane. I was not a fan of the romantic flight when Superman takes Lois above the clouds. The effects are cheesy in this sequence and the voice-over by Kidder over the sappy music made me want to gag. Hackman as Lex Luthor with Beatty and Perrine as embarrassing excuses for henchmen provide the goofy comic relief and not much menace. Some of the jokes were amusing though I must admit. Turning time back out of grief by reversing the rotation of the Earth strains any verisimilitude for pure fantasy.

Summary


Superman Summary