Superman Reviews and Ratings



  • July 29, 2014
    (First and only viewing - 10/23/2010)
  • July 18, 2014
    I really never been a big fan of "Superman" but I was going through Half Price Books and found the box set for $15 and just had to take it. It's pretty dated, but not unwatchable. The action is good and Christopher Reeve is an amazing Superman.
  • May 30, 2014
    This is the true superman ladies and gentlemen, the one and only. Others can try but no one will beat Christoper Reeves in this role. This movies cheesyness and charm had me blown away- even though it's more than 30 years old its still great today.
  • May 13, 2014
    I own the "theatrical cut" and "director's cut" version of this in the "Ultimate Superman Collection DVD" set and the "Superman Motion Picture Anthology" Blu-Ray set along with:
    * Superman And The Mole Men (1951)
    * Superman II (1980)
    * Superman II: The Richard Donner Cut (2006)
    ... read more* Superman III (1983)
    * Superman IV: The Quest For Peace (1987)
    * Superman Returns (2006)
  • May 1, 2014
    More than just a comic book character, Superman, over the years since he was first created, has become an American icon. Director Richard Donner, his talented filmmaking team, Puzo's strong script, a gifted supporting cast and, of course, the perfectly cast Christopher Reeve as t... read morehe titular character have created an endearing and nostalgic tribute that's equally heartfelt as it is humorous. As film critic Krishna Shenoi stated, this is the Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs for comic book films. The quality of film technology may have increased with each surpassing comic book film, but films like Batman, X-Men, Spider-man, The Dark Knight, Iron Man, and The Avengers all owe a debt of gratitude to this film for paving the way for them.

    Full review at http://silverscreenfanatic.com/2014/04/22/benjamins-stash-16/
  • March 24, 2014
    One of my fave films as a kid...I find it still holds-up. Christopher Reeve is great as both Clark Kent & Superman, and Gene Hackman is a lot of fun to watch. I enjoyed the story and thought the SFX hold-up quite well. If's its been a while, give it another watch!
  • March 14, 2014
    i love this movie but for me was a little bit campy like the adam west's batman.
  • February 22, 2014
    A classic big-budget blockbuster film. Much better than more recent offerings.
  • February 20, 2014
    A movie I won't ever forget, much like the legendary star, Christopher Reeves.
  • February 11, 2014
    For over twenty years, the original Superman remained the greatest comic book movie ever made. Its influence is still felt today (check out Spiderman and Batman Begins). It has a certain innocence and charm that lends itself nicely to the genre. Yet, it's the story that prevails.... read more Puzo and Benton succeed in making us truly care. The imagery is gorgeous and I adore the long takes. The touching sentiment, comedic banter and intense ending, all help make this a true classic. Brando and Hackman also add a certain amount of weight, while John Williams strikes a home run. Just be kind to its dated FX, kay? And just for the record, Reeve and Kidder remain the definitive Superman and Louis Lane.
  • fb1322024493
    November 27, 2013
    fb1322024493
    Swiss cheese. In that it is cheesy and full of holes (In logic). And yet, that just adds the charm in a weird way. Thing's that do not add to the charm, however, include pacing problems and Lois Lane's little poetic rhyme about how much she loves Superman. Then again, who wouldn'... read moret want all their feeling's to be forcibly rhymed?
  • November 15, 2013
    Classic! This film came out when I was 2... Been a fan ever since... Christopher Reeve made me believe I could Fly!
  • October 24, 2013
    It's fantastic for its time. Superhero films have tackled themes more head on in recent years, but this one is excellent for the standards of its age (namely, not being so theme-driven).
  • September 11, 2013
    Superb the bench mark for how to make an Origin story.
  • September 5, 2013
    I've never been a big fan of Superman, and while this movie is nostalgic for a lot of people (myself included), it really doesn't hold up all that well over time. But I still give it nostalgic points and ignore the corny-ness
  • July 26, 2013
    Was 18 when this came out & saw it multiple times. In it's day was a mind-blower
  • July 10, 2013
    If I had the time travel capabilities to compare the generational impacts that Superman (1978) and The Dark Knight (2008) had in their respective decades, I would dare to say that the visual world created by Richard Donner 4 decades ago left audiences in bigger awe than the intre... read morepid superhero film a la Michael Mann of Christopher Nolan, simply because Superman was something out of this world (pun intended). The 70s also experienced the nostalgia of watching that superhero with which our grandfathers had grown since the character was still a black-and-white TV sensation.

    Landmark visual effects and the best Lex Luthor possible, this is, hands down, the best superhero film ever made.

    91/100
  • oylux
    June 30, 2013
    oylux
    Sin lugar a dudas es la primer película que inspiro a una generación y a las anteriores fanáticas del hombre de acero, es la que tiene ese feeling de el personaje Superman, es la que hizo realidad el ver a Superman hacer proezas como en los comics, es la que hizo soñar a los niño... read mores que un hombre puede volar.

    La entrada de la película es genial, tenemos el inicio sobre el Comic, el globo del planeta girando, la excelente musica de John Williams y los créditos en el espacio con la tridemensionalidad de el logotipo de Superman, algo que constituye todo un recuerdo inamovible.

    La actuación de Marlon Brando como Jor-El y Terence Stamp como Zod es muy buena durante el principio, sostiene esa parte del filme, además es lo que dara la preparación y cabida a los confictos de Superman 2 que vendría siendo el complemento de esta cinta.

    Como un comentario, opino que tanto el traje negro y el luminoso de los kriptonianos son elegantes y lucen muy bien, con logotipos emblema de cada familia de kripton.

    La nave de Kal-El y las edificaciones Kriptonianas, idem de la Fortaleza me parecen muy mala idea, no me agradan, el hecho de que sean de Cristal y que todo parezca hielo, me parece falto de creatividad, pues lo unico seguro y que representan bien, es que la civilizacion kriptoniana era muy fría. Me gustan mas las ideas del comic, donde en las fortalezas y edificios kriptonianos hay formas especiales de diseño y arquitectura, que además representan bien el grado tecnologico de esta civilización.

    Smallville y la granja de los Kent, lucen en demasía desoladores y bastante feos, y es una cosa que no sucede en los comics tanto en los de Superboy como en los de Superman y hasta en las series televisivas siempre hay un aspecto más optimista.

    Hay una escena del joven Clark con Lana, que refleja toda la frustración que esconde el tener que crecer al margen por ser diferente, que fue bueno haber mostrado.
    Igualmente la escena de la conversación con Jonathan, es buena porque aunque es muy poca la participación de Glenn Ford, se demuestra la relación padre e hijo.
    Al igual que la creación de la fortaleza, (en el polo Norte por cierto) estas escenas serian fundamentos de la serie Smallville.

    Estas largas escenas como de 40 minutos fueron necesarias por ser el primer filme y mantuvieron a la gente a la expectativa para poder ver a Superman (sobretodo volar) y sorprenderse.
    A proposito de Superman...se supone que por ser la primera cinta, nos deberían contar ¿De donde o como surge el traje de Superman? Acaso se lo materializo Jor-El.

    Cuando finalmente llega a Metropolis tenemos al fin el reparto principal con las personalidades del comic de la epoca: Clark el tímido-torpe, la indiferente Lois, el amable Jimmy Olsen y el jefe energico, en todo lo amplio de la palabra: Perry White. Por otro lado tenemos a un Lex Luthor asesino y ampliamente interesado en las bienes raices o propiedades. Aspectos que conservarían para Superman Returns.

    A lo largo podemos ver las muy buenas actuaciones de Christopher Reeve, Gene Hackman que personifican con buen tino a sus personajes. Dejando una huella difícil de igualar por mucho tiempo.

    Me llama la atención un comentario de Lois Lane, en cual menciona que su hermana tiene tres hijos, e inmediatamente pense en Lucy que se supone es menor a ella. Pero desconozco cuantas hermanas tendría en esa epoca de los comics.

    Llegamos por fin a la aparición de Superman como tal, y se da salvando a Lois de caer con todo y helicoptero; la escena es muy buena y emocionante, sobretodo acompañada de la musica de John Williams, hace poner la piel erizada al surgir en el momento exacto para que uno se emocione al ver con los ojos de un niño, como alguien salva la situación, es como si uno fuese uno mas de la gente que aplaude al pie del edificio.
    Y hablando de edificios, ese es el edificio del Planeta y este no tiene en su cima el Globo giratorio del principio del fime (falta de presupuesto seguramente) y en su lugar tiene el helipuerto.

    Otro detalle que salta a mi vista es que cuando Clark tiene que cambiarse a Superman, no hicieron las escenas bien justificadas, pues se mete en cualquier sitio poco creíble y rapidamente sale, a veces entre la misma gente. Solo lo justifica la fantasía de la epoca.

    La comedia del filme recae mucho más en el personaje de Ottis, el secuaz de Luthor; Ottis resta seriedad en momentos que debería haberla, pero ala vez ayuda a que Lex se vea más astuto.
    La escena menos creíble-justificable y que le ha costado mofa a través de los años a Superman (que por ello se siente de Tierra 2 del comic) es, en la que mueve el eje de rotación de la Tierra para regresar al tiempo. Considero que es lo peor de la cinta, un recurso innecesario y fantastico. Si se tenía que hacer de esa manera bien se pudo haber buscado otra idea para volver al tiempo. De algo se dieron cuenta al tomar inspiración en Smallville y usaron otra idea mejor.

    La salida o final, es otra escena de esas que se recuerdan; Superman saliendo por un costado y volteando a ver la camara como despidiendose con un gesto amable en lo alto del espacio y sobre la Tierra.

    Superman The Movie una cinta pionera del género, que hizo realidad las fantasías de miles, tiene ese angel que no muchas cintas de superheroes logran conseguir, fue y es la inspiración de escritores y cineastas. Todo un clásico, inmortalizado por el gran Christoper Reeve.
  • June 25, 2013
    Young Clark Kent: All those things I can do. All those powers. And I couldn't even save him.

Summary


Superman Summary