close [×]

Dear Flixster Community,

After seven fabulous years with you all, we are sorry to let you know that we're going to be retiring the Flixster Community site on September 30, 2014. Please note that you can still access your ratings, reviews, and quizzes on Flixster and Rotten Tomatoes using your same login. We have had so much fun building this community with you.

Thanks for all the memories,
Flixster

Iron Sky Reviews and Ratings



  • fb627574148
    August 17, 2014
    fb627574148
    C'est pas un chef-d'oeuvre mais c'est fait avec amour.
  • fb713014601
    August 10, 2014
    fb713014601
    [Director's Cut] Trashy Nazi sci-fi. A brilliant concept that doesn't achieve its full potential though Iron Sky is consistently amusing and the Visual FX are great for the budget.
  • July 11, 2014
    wow.....ummm just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie.....i think that julia dietze, gotz otto, christopher kirby, udo kier, peta sergeant, play good roles/parts throughout t... read morehis movie.......i think that the director of this action/adventure/sci-fi/fantasy movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie....its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie........YOU HAVE GOT TO WATCH THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE AS SOMETHING HAPPENS AT THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE....its got good special effects throughout this movie......i think that Stephanie Paul as the President of the United States (a parody of Sarah Palin, was really funny throughout this movie.....i think that this is such an entertaining movie 2 watch its got a good cast of actors/actressess thorughout this movie......i think that this is such a really funny movie 2 watch.....its got good fight scenes throughout this movie.... i think that this is such a cult movie 2 watch its got good fight scenes throughout this movie......i think that this is such an enjoyable movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie.......its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie......i think that this is such a cult movie 2 watch.....
  • June 30, 2014
    Kind of enjoyably horrible, though I don't know how much it'll hold up as a camp cult classic. The premise is hilariously awesome, it's just too bad the execution is just handled sooooooo poorly. I believe this movie is made by Norwegians, and boy does it show in their "knowledge... read more" of what the US is like. Their version of Washington DC is (I believe) unintentionally hilarious; I loved the street gangs that look they came out of a movie version of 1970's New York. I couldn't stop laughingly when they have the President's CAMPAIGN MANAGER become a space General somehow (not even going to ask where the space fleet came from). That character is handled so poorly before becoming a space general, that it makes it even greater she's suddenly put into that role randomly. Also, whats the point of having a "good" Nazi? So many hilariously bad things going on.
  • June 2, 2014
    L'idea di base geniale, anche gli effetti speciali e i costumi sono veramente interessanti (soprattutto perch si tratta di un film a basso budget). Quello che manca la sceneggiatura: i dialoghi e il dispiegamento della trama lasciano a desiderare anche se la cosa peggiore ... read morela recitazione sempre sopra le righe (capisco che un film particolare ma quando troppo troppo).
  • May 16, 2014
    'Heil Kortzfleisch!'

    So I think we all know right from the start this film is not to be taken seriously in any means or fashion in the slightest. A completely farcical UFO B-movie that is a mix of classic old 40's/50's sci-fi and complete schlock, any sci-fi or horror that invol... read moreves the Nazi's tends to be trashy nonsense right?

    Only this film isn't entirely a cheap tasteless excuse for smut in smart uniforms oh no, its actually a pretty neat little film that actually looks pretty good. Its almost in black and white for a lot of the Nazi sections, a virtual grey scale of dull rusty metal bolted together with lots of sturdy fat rivets, thick 50's looking sci-fi cables and lots of impressive steel gantries for the kraut officers to leer from triumphantly.

    I have to admit I wasn't expecting the earth here (no pun intended) but the CGI effects on most of the space battles, spaceships and Moon shenanigans all look quite crisp and clean with clearly much effort involved. The spacecraft are all your classic UFO shapes (with nice WWII influence) but one has to admit they do look kinda cool with the German kit on them. There is also a really nice steampunk, cogs n gears, 'Wolfenstein' vibe going on throughout the German Moon based sequences which really works well, kinda reminded me a little of Del Toro's work in 'Hellboy 2'.

    Plot aside (seeing as there are plot holes you could fly a Zeppelin through) the film is good fun and does what you would expect with plenty of other invasion films copied in certain sequences. The acting is poor but Gtz Otto makes an impressive display as the Fuhrer wannabe 'Klaus Adler', he snarls his way through his dialog in wonderful form really enjoying the villainy, and of course who can forget Udo Kier as the new Fuhrer. I believe Kier is in the dictionary under the word 'cult'.

    For some reason I did expect more blood n guts in this, not extreme but it just begged for more claret to flow and maybe some Nazi experimentation, say Nazi space mutants or Nazi killer space robots made with human parts etc...I dunno maybe that's just me and my warped mind. I guess ze crazy German scientist 'Doktor Richter' gave the impression that might happen, nice character, complete stereotype but nice.

    A combination of political satire and spoof mixed with B-movie UFO's and space Nazi's, the best part being its not trashy and the space battles do look cool in a 'Starship Troopers' kind of way. I also liked the US president being a woman who looked suspiciously like Sarah Palin. Pure trashy genius methinks, yet such a simple idea.
  • May 16, 2014
    So bad, it's g... No, it's just all bad.
  • May 2, 2014
    So the premise is silly, the plot is ridiculous and the characters are over the top. Other than that it's all good silly fun :) I watched the slightly longer director's cut btw.
  • April 4, 2014
    I am truly amazed the makers were able to finally get the financing for this. I'd been following their progress on the internet for years. The film is quite ridiculous and not terribly funny, but it's not without its moments of minor brilliance. Sensitive viewers could potenti... read moreally be insulted by certain scenes, but there's a good, well-meaning heart at the core of this, so it's not too bad in that department.
  • December 1, 2013
    This movie can be picked apart to death. But if you don't pick it apart it wasn't all that bad for a rental. has some funny moments, was a good idea and even has a good message at the end. If you are a person that picks out every little thing in movies you will hate this one
  • fb539215545
    November 2, 2013
    fb539215545
    It's Nazis from space. Cult movie fans will basically know what to expect. It's just a shame it couldn't have been a bit better. I say RENT IT!!!
  • October 23, 2013
    What a complete flop as a movie.... waste of 1.5 hours, no story line, not much humour and really not much of anything at all
  • October 22, 2013
    Only for the idea of Nazis hidden on the Moon for 70 years waiting for their vengeance, this movie should take 6 stars, not 5. There are some dead moments, especially in the ending part, but there are also some moments in which you think: "how stupid could a man be to have such a... read moren idiot idea?" and those are the parts that make this film good, despite its stupidness, Probably could be made better, but be honest, for a movie of this kind is far more than sufficient.
  • July 26, 2013
    Can you say "B" movie? Well, this was a super "B" movie. Probably the strangest one I've seen in a while. At least he women in it were hot or the whole thing would be wasted. The premise of the story is one hell of an idea, but the movie flopped. This is another watch if the... read morere is nothing else to watch movie...Don't spend your hard earned money on this one!
  • July 21, 2013
    This movie isn't really as clever as it thinks it is. Certainly not bad by any stretch, but considering its absolutely insane idea, it should've been infinitely more entertaining than it ended up being. Space Nazis coming back to earth to take over? This movie ends up being a ... read moregigantic missed opportunity. And the entire movie just ends up feeling so forced. It's clear they went out of their way to make a campy and goofy movie, and in being so self-aware the movie ends up becoming a parody of itself. To make a truly campy movie, the director has to be completely oblivious to it. He/she has to believe that they're making wonderful art for the masses. When you're so self-aware that that's what you wanna do, it ends up feeling lifeless and transparent. You can easily see through it and that's this film's biggest problem. On top of that, there's this third-rate feel the movie has. Almost like you'd be embarrassed to be caught watching it. I don't mean to shit on the cast, but they weren't exactly setting my world on fire. But they did their best under these circumstances. Also the political message of the film is not lost on me with the president being an exact copy of Sarah Palin. This political stuff in the movie is also very transparent. Anyone with any knowledge of American politics will figure this out. The movie does it have its moments, like most any other film, but these are simply not enough to save a movie that was pretty much doomed right from the very start thanks to its self-awareness. Also for a movie that's supposed to be silly and campy, the ending was probably too serious for its own good. This is a perfectly watchable movie, but one that misses an opportunity to tell a massively entertaining, but campy, movie about Nazis in space. It really does miss the mark entirely.
  • July 13, 2013
    I am going to pass on this.
  • July 11, 2013
    ridiculous, total waste of time and very cheesy. 0/10
  • fb741489273
    July 11, 2013
    fb741489273
    The Nazis have a secret civilisation on the dark side of the moon. What would be an awesome premise for a serious sci-fi flick, this dreadful attempt at comedy is confusing, and completely unfunny nonsense.
  • July 8, 2013
    130708: Strange but some amazing special effects.
  • fb100000164590380
    May 29, 2013
    fb100000164590380
    Moon Nazis: The Movie.

    Was it ever going to be that good? I enjoyed it for what it was, and I had heard a lot of negative buzz before watching this. The effects were pretty impressive, and there was something pretty satisfying about seeing epic battles when you know this film wo... read moreuld never be made for a mainstream audience.

    The film made me laugh a few times, with one great reference to Downfall, and a few other gags. The performances aren't that great and there are some problems with the script and direction that just make it feel a little cheaper. It does have a few things to say, which was nice to see- and although some may find it offensive, I don't think its what the film sets out to do, as it is virtually Star Wars- but with Earth and Nazis... and a much smaller budget.

    So Iron Sky is virtually Star Nazis: The Fuhrer Strikes Back.
  • May 21, 2013
    Just...don't waste your time. Poorly written, poorly directed and poorly shot. Just every second is a wasteful use of time and brain power.

Summary


Iron Sky Summary